Arizona Association of Student Councils

State Charity
Member Schools

State Presidents
Leadership Curriculum Standards


AASC Advisor Area

2010 State Convention

The annual state convention is an excellent place for advisors to network, gain professional development, and enjoy the company of their colleagues.

Helpful Tips for Advisors

Outstanding Advisor of the Year Award

Each year AASC recognizes one advisor who has done an outstanding job serving as their school’s student council advisor and honors them at the annual AASC State Convention. If you believe that the advisor from your school deserves this honor, we encourage you to nominate them for this award. Simply complete the nomination form and mail it to the address printed on the form before the deadline date. The AASC Executive Board will review the nominations and make the final selection of who will be awarded the prestigious "AASC Outstanding Advisor of the Year."

The advisor who wins this state award will be automatically nominated for the Warren E. Shull Regional Advisor of the Year Award, presented by the National Association of Student Councils (NASC). From the regional winners, a national winner will be selected and announced at the national conference in June.

Download Advisor of the Year Nomination Form

Past winners:

  • 2017 Tony Dolata (Carl Hayden HS)
  • 2016 Michael Fenton (Sunnyslope HS)
  • 2015 Lisa Schroeder (Salt River HS)
  • 2014 Kriket Tomasi (McClintock HS)
  • 2013 Brent Jarles (Blue Ridge HS)
  • 2012 Samantha Burgin (Ironwood Ridge HS)
  • 2011 Susan Molina (Douglas High School)
  • 2010 Dr. Susan Rockwell (St. Mary's High School)
  • 2009 Amanda McAdams (Apollo High School)
  • 2008 Becky Caballero (St. Johns High School)
  • 2007 Susan Schmidt (Ironwood High School)

Download the Student Leadership/Student Council
Curriculum Standards (pdf)