Advisor of the Year


Each year AASC recognizes one advisor who has done an outstanding job serving as their school’s student council advisor and honors them at the annual AASC State Convention. If you believe that the advisor from your school deserves this honor, we encourage you to nominate them for this award. Simply complete the nomination form and mail it to the address printed on the form before the deadline date. The AASC Executive Board will review the nominations and make the final selection of who will be awarded the prestigious "AASC Outstanding Advisor of the Year." 

Past winners: 

  • 2018- Tim Rebek (San Luis HS) 
  • 2017- Tony Dolata (Carl Hayden HS) 
  • 2016- Michael Fenton (Sunnyslope HS) 
  • 2015- Lisa Schroeder (Salt River HS) 
  • 2014- Kriket Tomasi (McClintock HS) 
  • 2013- Brent Jarles(Blue Ridge HS) 
  • 2012- Samantha Burgin (Ironwood Ridge HS) 
  • 2011- Susan Molina (Douglas High School) 
  • 2010- Dr. Susan Rockwell (St. Mary's High School) 
  • 2009- Amanda McAdams (Apollo High School) 
  • 2008- Becky Caballero (St. Johns High School) 
  • 2007- Susan Schmidt (Ironwood High School) 

2019 Advisor of the Year

Ms. Kathy Wilson

Ironwood High School
Business Technology Teacher & Student Council Advisor
Student Council Advisor: 11 Years

As our Student Council Advisor, Ms. Wilson year after year helps us find our chemistry, and it is this chemistry that makes the Ironwood slogan “Its Just Better Here” a true statement. One of the things that Ms. Wilson has always impressed upon our Student Council is the need to find your joy and to choose joy over stress. Her positive attitude is contagious and in constantly encourages our Student Council to want to do better.

Other Nominees for Student Council Advisor of the Year 2018:

  • Ms. Cassandra Smith - Bourgage Catholic HS
  • Mr. Gary Thompson - Catalina Foothills HS
  • Ms. Ivette D’Angelo - Chino Valley HS
  • Mr. Omar Sultani - Cortez HS
  • Ms. Sara Lazar - Gilbert HS
  • Ms. Sandra Saco - La Joya Community HS
  • Ms. Jenna Serafini - Moon Valley HS
  • Dr. Daniel Farmer - Mountain View HS (Mesa)
  • Ms. Alyson Rassel - Pinnacle HS
  • Ms. Jennifer Holland - Queen Creek HS
  • Ms. Jennifer Dore - Valley Vista HS
  • Ms. Cheri Guy - Westwood HS